C vs the Odds #5: Midweek

That’s it i’m done with hockey…until the weekend. Today I decided to stay away from the NHL Playoffs and instead turn my attention to Major League Soccer. WIth Chelsea and Tottenham playing this afternoon I’m feeling in the football betting mood, only problem is that I can’t decide who to bet on in that game. I’ve decided to place my cards in the MLS, a league I know very little about. With several seconds of research completed, I now feel like the outright authority on all things MLS, but thats probably because no one else cares. So here’s my soccer or football or whatever gamble mixed in, hopefully, with a few close games.

The Bet: MLS Houston Dynamo (2.5) (T2.9) @ D.C. United (2.4)

Here’s the scoop; Houston is one of the better teams in the league. D.C. is the worst team in the league. End of story.

Ok, so maybe it’s not that simple, but Houston is a team playing well ,going 2-2-0 in their last 4 games against quality competition. D.C., on the other hand, have not won since March 9th. Since then they have 5 losses and 1 draw. I’m putting my money on Houston’s class to shine through tonight.

MLB Detroit Tigers (2.45) (T2.5) @ Washington Nationals (2.7)

This is going to be a great pitching matchup tonight. Anibal Sanchez (3-2, 1.82 ERA) looks to lead Detroit to their 5th straight victory after a clean sweep of the Houston Astros last week. Standing in their way tonight will be red hot Jordan Zimmerman (5-1, 1.64 ERA). I’m not really sure who is going to win this game to be honest, both teams are playing great and know this is a series to test themselves against the best the MLB has to offer. I’m excited to see the strikeout numbers at the end of this game as I expect Sanchez and Zimmerman to be dialed in. 1 run ball game and I’m gonna guess Detroit squeezes it out.

NBA Golden State Warriors (5.85) (T3.2) @ San Antionio Spurs (1.55)

Game 1 of this series has to be the best basketball game so far in the 2013 NBA playoffs. Double overtime in a game in which San Antonio fought back at home to force OT then watched Many Ginobili ice it with a beautiful 3-pointer late. These players are probably exhausted from their game 1 marathon but will be ready to go tonight in game 2 which sets up to be another thriller. San Antonio reminded everyone of how good they can be down the stretch, but that came after the Golden Steph Curriers showed that they weren’t afraid to go toe-to-toe with these NBA veterans. I hope this is an exciting and close game, can’t wait to stay up until 2am again to catch the end. If your looking for a good side bet, I would suggest taking Steph Curry to win a player points battle. He’s been phenomenal so far this post-season.

$5 Pays $100

C

Leave a Reply

